Prof. B. G. Hegde
Chairman Dept. of Physics


      TThe department of Physics was started in the academic year 2011 -2012 with an intake of 20 students. This department was started with an intension to strengthen the science education in the northern part of Karnataka. The First Vice Chancellor of Rani Channamma University, Prof. B. R. Ananthan was instrumental in starting this department as a part of School of Basic Sciences. The Department of Physics is equipped with modern laboratory equipments and currently offering Condensed Matter Physics as a specialization. In future the department is intended to start other specialization subjects such as Nuclear and Particle Physics Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics, Electronics and related inter disciplinary nature courses.

Vision/Mission Statement:

To make the Department of Physics under the umbrella of Rani Channamma University, the most preferred centre of higher education in the areas of Condensed Matter Physics, Nuclear and Particle Physics Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics and Electronics.
Goals & Objectives of the Department:
To create an opportunity for meaningful learning in the areas of Physics for the students in the region.
To develop the human capital from this region to contribute to the growth of Science and Technology.
To develop world class teaching and research laboratory facilities for training students for higher education and job opportunity.
To develop a center of research and higher education for social development of the region.
To carry out research in the interdisciplinary areas in collaboration with other departments under the university, other institutions of higher learning & research and industry.